As we reported in June, the Texas Labor Code was amended effective September 1 to expand liability for employers as to employee claims of sexual harassment. Specifically, the amendments to the Labor Code:
- Impose liability for sexual harassment claims on more employers, by expanding the protections of the Labor Code to employers with as few as one (1) employee;
- Open the door for potential individual liability by owners, supervisors, and managers for claims of sexual harassment;
- Require an employer to take “immediate” and appropriate corrective action in response to a claim of sexual harassment, potentially accelerating an employer’s need under federal law to take “prompt” remedial action; and
- Increase the Charge-filing period for those claiming sexual harassment from 180 days to 300 days.
Continue Reading Reminder to Texas Employers: Update Your Harassment Policies and Training